2015 – the year in Burlesque

Well, that’s another year over! And I can’t say I’m sorry to see it go, cause 2015 has been utterly shit for me in many ways. So here’s a review of all the positive that happened.

The year started with some amazing costume commissions coming in and also the husband and I putting on a few small shows!

I had the pleasure to perform my Paper Moon act for Ruby Shoes‘ Showgirl event in Southsea and had an amazing time! You can imagine due to the size of the prop it doesn’t get booked as much as I wish, so this was great!! I really love working with the RS team, their events are always extra special and extra fun! Here’s a lovely shot by Lee Barrett Photography:

11046896_1586089554937624_545441719527264592_o

In March I launched a new act and the Sandman was born at my very own show, beautifully captured here by Rosemary Rance Photography:

I didn’t quite know whether I liked the act or not back then, but now I love it! Read more about it here if you’re interested!

The absolute highlight of March was performing at Munich Burlesque Festival! This is such a special event with so much love put into it! The atmosphere was amazing and so much comradery amongst the artists is hard to find. Loved this weekend!! I performed my Chinese Ghost Wedding act and enjoyed every second! (pictures by me, Verena Gremmer Fotografie and Martin Duerr)

Well, Chinese Ghost did quite a bit of traveling this year! I brought this act to Munich, Como, Bristol and Milan!

I also got to do an amazing photoshoot in a real Munich Brothel with Marco of Vintage Rebel Studios, an unmissable experience! Shooting with Marco is always great fun, because it comes natural and I always feel very beautiful in front of his camera! Plus look at this brothel!!! A lucky find.

Munich_Odelia_Opium_002_72dpiMunich_Odelia_Opium_001_72dpi

In April I went to Edinburgh for the first time ever to perform at the Burlesque Ball! Instantly fell in love with Scotland! Also started revamping the costume for my oldest act, the 18th century fan dance. But since other work got in the way it remains almost finished today. 2016 will be the official relaunch!

In May it was time for London Burlesque Festival! I brought my Paper Moon act and enjoyed myself a lot! Here’s a little video review from one of my shows and a little slideshow from two weeks of fun!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also managed to get a new tattoo, inspired by my costume making profession. I always wanted to have a sewing tattoo, and Joe from Kilburn Original Tattoo made it happen!

11201935_1132479376778437_8840258519447838293_n

August brought my very first time at Edinburgh Fringe Festival! It was a tough weekend with lost of shows and fun, much more exhausting than I thought it would be. But I got to perform in a real spiegeltent for the first time and loved every second! Check out this little recap video from Best of Burlesque!

11880427_1161079763918398_1462118834684688568_n

September had some highlights waiting. Not only did I get to perform at Bristol Burlesque Festival (the home of renegade strippers!), I was also asked to take part in Como Lake Festival, where Chinese Ghost Wedding won Judges Special Prize for Most Visual Act! I was absolutely thrilled to win my first crown! The festival was such a lovely experience where I felt really welcome, looked after and loved (pictures by InFexx)!

October saw me doing tons of Halloween shows, which I always enjoy very much! I especially loved spending some time with my Bawdsville friends at the Dark Carnival:

12193543_772076409563412_8043817817339754495_n

And another highlight of October: the Sandman actually won 1st place at the Alternative Cabaret Battle in Portsmouth! I normally don’t win things, I guess I’m not enough of a crowd pleaser, so I was really happy the Sandman won an award! Here I am with my beautiful friend Poppy Raine:

1948197_1202839646409076_4373897628371557761_n

The year ended with my first performance in my husband’s hometown at the Milan Extraordinaire Festival, where I got to spend quality time with friends old and new!

So I traveled quite a bit and had good times in lots of places (also some bad times as burlesque is not always glitter and unicorns, but let’s forget about those now!), made many interesting costumes for fabulous people and taught lots of costuming classes. I am grateful to everyone who booked me, came to see me or shared some happy times with me! Lots of lovely memories were made. So here’s to new memories in 2016!

Stay fabulous and until next time!

p.s.: Feel free to follow my costume work here and burlesque shenanigans here!

 

Leave a Reply

